Tatsat Chronicle Magazine

Prime Minister Launches Asia’s Biggest Bio-CNG Plant in Indore

The Gobar-Dhan plant is a commendable effort to ensure cleaner urban spaces under the principle of waste to wealth, said Narendra Modi
February 19, 2022
Prime Minister speaking at the inauguration of the municipal solid waste based Gobar-Dhan plant in Indore, through video conferencing, in New Delhi on February 19, 2022.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi virtually inaugurated Asia’s biggest Bio-CNG plant, the Gobar-Dhan plant, in Indore on Saturday.

The Prime Minister informed that in coming two years, Gober-Dhan Bio-CNG plants will be established in 75 major municipal bodies. “This campaign will go a long way in making Indian cities clean, pollution free and in the direction of clean energy,” he said.

The Gobar-Dhan plant will have the capacity to treat 550 tonnes of segregated wet organic waste and produce around 17,000 kg CNG and 100 tonnes of organic compost per day. According to PMO, the plant is expected to reduce greenhouse gas emissions and provide green energy along with organic compost as fertiliser.

The Prime Minister said that not only in cities, Gobar-Dhan plants are being set up in villages also, getting extra income for the farmers. This will help in dealing with the problem of stray and unsupported cattle along with meeting India’s climate commitments, he said.

He said that in the second phase of Swachh Bharat Mission, government is working to remove lakhs of tonnes of garbage that is occupying thousand acres of land and causing air and water pollution leading to many diseases. Now, the focus is on disposal of wet waste, he said. The government is trying to convert these mountains of garbage into green zones in the next two-three years. He also expressed happiness that garbage disposal capacity of the country has increased by four times since 2014. More than 1,600 bodies are getting material recovery facilities to get rid of single-use plastic.

The inauguration event was attended by Madhya Pradesh Governor Mangubhai C. Patel, Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, and Union Ministers Hardeep Singh Puri, Dr Virendra Kumar and Kaushal Kishore.