Tatsat Chronicle Magazine

Delhi to Have 100 New E-Vehicle Charging Stations, Will Charge ₹2 Per Unit

Once these 100 charging stations open to public on June 27, Delhi will have 879 EV charging points at 280 charging stations
March 15, 2022

By June 27, 100 new e-vehicle charging stations will be set up at major places in Delhi and out of these, 71 will be at metro stations. Delhi Energy Minister Satyendar Jain said the fee for using the station facility would be ₹2 per unit. He claimed that the fee would be “the lowest in the country”.

Satyendra Jain said, “Our EV policy envisages one charging station every 3 km in the city. Tenders were invited for setting up of 100 (e-vehicle) charging stations with 500 charging points. Hundred major locations have been identified where charging stations will be set up. Of these, 71 will be located at metro stations.”

As per the tender, the stations will be built on PPP (public-private-partnership) model, with land, cabling and transmission infrastructure provided by the government and equipment and manpower by the company. The minister said that the tender was selected on the basis of the lowest service fee. Jain said the agreements would be signed by April 8 and operational by June 27.

Deputy Chairman of the Communications and Development Commission (DDC) Jasmin Shah said that at present there are around 400 charging points in the city and they are owned by the government and private companies. “Now, with 500 more charging points, the number will soon more than double,” he said.

As of March 15, Delhi had 1,39,733 EVs registered with the state transport department. Against that, the city has 180 stations with a total of 379 charging points. Additionally, Delhi also has at least 79 privately operated battery swapping stations in operation that have 274 swapping docks.

Once these 100 charging stations open to the public on June 27, Delhi will have 879 EV charging points at 280 charging stations. The upcoming EV charging stations will be in eight districts — north-west (22 stations), south (19), west (18), south-west (15), north-east (9), east (8), north (5) and New Delhi (4).