Tatsat Chronicle Magazine

UP Elections 2022: 2nd Phase Polling for 55 Seats Concludes, Voter Turnout of Over 66.42%

February 14, 2022

Voting for the second phase of elections in UP ended at 6 pm on Monday. A total of 586 candidates, across 55 constituencies and nine districts, were in the fray in this phase.

Among these 55 seats, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 38 in the 2017 elections, followed by the Samajwadi Party (SP) at 13, the Congress and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) with two seats each.

Of the estimated 2.02 crore eligible voters, there are 1.08 crore male, 94 lakh female, and 1,269 third gender voters.

In the second phase, 23,404 polling places and 12,544 polling stations were set up. Voting has ended in UP across 9 districts.

Earlier in 2017, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had won 38 of the 55 constituencies, Samajwadi Party had bagged 13 and the Congress and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had got two seats each.

While voting was underway, Prime Minister Narendra Modi trained guns at the Congress and the Samajwadi Party while addressing a rally in Kanpur Dehat, saying that “parivarvad” will not be voted back to power in UP.